top of page

The Lord is my Shepherd. Part One.

The Lord is my Shepherd.

'I shall not want'

When we go through 'stuff' in life, and we get grinded down by it, it's hard sometimes not to become bitter and disheartened.

However, God has a plan for our lives despite the disappointments and the negative things. And in the misdt of all that is going on, I have been studying Psalm 23. It's what has kept me looking forward the last week.

The world constantly throws things at us, and with this we can become ungracious about even the small things. God has taught me this through the first half of Psalm 23, that 'I shall not want'.

I have a habit of wanting nice things, I think we all do, but in the end the nice things the world offers fade away. People's hearts will be left with greed, and ungreatfulness, and possible bitterness because someone has something better than them.

Isn't it more important, to want the calling Jesus has for us? To 'want' what he has for us, and desire, to be near to Him? Isn't that more precious than some new jewllery?

So, as I have said to myself this week. 'I shall not want'. Over and over, I have felt the need for 'things' have gone. I have spent more time in the presence of Jesus and I feel completely at peace, despite the rushing around and craziness of life.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page